British Keelboat League (CBYC)

Event Date : 04 September 2021 - 05 September 2021

Registrations Closed : 23 August 2021

Entry Fee : £ 330.00

# Registrations : 5/7

Cardiff Bay YC will play host to our British Keelboat League racing in the fleet of RS21s, come along and enjoy the Welsh hospitality and superb racing set to take place in beautiful Cardiff Bay.


The British Keelboat League, established in 2016, was introduced with the aim of increasing participation in keelboat racing across the United Kingdom. This is delivered through the concept of concentrated inter-club team sailing, which is highly successful in other parts of Europe and across North America. Sailors compete representing their club in a series of short sprint races against teams from other clubs in their region in a qualifying round of weekend racing. The finest teams from each region then battle it out in a national final to be crowned the British Keelboat League champions.

This approach to racing provides a level playing field for all competitors and breaks down some of the historic barriers to participation in keelboat racing, as boats for the competition (RS21 and Hunter 707) are provided by the British Keelboat League. Throughout the events, sailors will alternate between the fleet of one-design small keelboats (crews of 4 or 5 depending on class).

Since its inception just a few years ago, the British Keelboat League, has brought sailors from all different disciplines and professional backgrounds of the sport together. From seasoned offshore ocean fanatics to summer season dinghy racers, CEO’s to college and university students, the British Keelboat League is a truly inclusive opportunity for everyone who loves our sport.


Cardiff Bay YC

Address : Cardiff Bay YC Ely Harbour Ferry Road United Kingdom CF11 0JL

Email :

Tel no : 02920666627

Sail No Fleet Helm / Sailing Club Crew / Sailing Club
TBC British Keelboat League Sam Thomas TBC1
Charter British Keelboat League Aidan Bell / Royal Thames YC Felix Crowther / Castaways
Alejandra Gutierrez / Imperial College SC
Toby Freeland / Imperial College SC
Charter British Keelboat League Ioan Lavery / Penarth Yacht Club Michael Vodden / Penarth Yacht Club
Leigh Griffiths / Penarth Yacht Club
TBC / Penarth Yacht Club
Charter British Keelboat League Anthony Chappin / Cardiff SC Tim Gifford / Cardiff SC
Charter British Keelboat League Martin Roots / Cardiff Bay Yacht Club Stuart Lewis / Royal Southern Yacht Club
Grant Wilton / Cardiff Bay Yacht Club
Andrew Creighton / Cardiff Bay Yacht Club
Total : 5

Other links

Official Noticebaord